

Association of Nepalese Agricultural Professionals of Americas

Executive Committee

President Dr. Megha N. Parajulee

Vice President Dr. Pradeep Wagle

General Secretary Dr. Ramjee Ghimire

Joint Secretary Dr. Dev Paudel

Treasurer Dr. Santosh Dhakal

Members

Dr. Aditya Khanal Ms. Gita Koirala Bhandari Dr. Nityananda Khanal Dr. Shyam L. Kandel Dr. Sushil Thapa Dr. Uma Karki

NAPA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 8th EC Meeting Minutes

Friday, May 7, 2021; 8:00 PM CST

Attendance	
Executive	Megha N. Parajulee, Pradeep Wagle, Ramjee
Committee	Ghimire, Santosh Dhakal, Gita Koirala
	Bhandari, Aditya Khanal, Nityananda Khanal,
	Shyam Kandel, Uma Karki
Informed in absentia	Dev Paudel
Uninformed in	Sushil Thapa
absentia	
Invitee	

1. General Secretary Dr. Ramjee Ghimire welcomed Executive Committee members and began the meeting.

2. NAPA By-laws Amendments:

2.1 The committee unanimously approved the following additions and/or changes on NAPA by-laws and agreed to table the same in the upcoming Annual General Meeting for approval.

Membership Eligibility:

Anyone who has at least an undergraduate or bachelor's degree or equivalent degree in agricultural and/or allied areas shall be eligible for membership. NAPA, however, welcomes and encourages the participation of individuals, in its endeavors, from any region or country.

New Additions:

i) Student Associate Membership:

Current students of agricultural and allied areas of studies who are at good standing student's status (undergraduate or graduate) outside Americas shall meet the requirement of this member category. Student Associate member shall neither have a voting right nor be the candidate of the EC. However, they may perform roles in the specialized committees as assigned by EC.

ii) Endowment Fund Advisory Board:

An Endowment Fund Advisory Board (EFAB) shall be created to empower NAPA's financial and programmatic sustainability. A



Association of Nepalese Agricultural Professionals of Americas

Executive Committee

President Dr. Megha N. Parajulee

Vice President Dr. Pradeep Wagle

General Secretary Dr. Ramjee Ghimire

Joint Secretary Dr. Dev Paudel

Treasurer Dr. Santosh Dhakal

Members

Dr. Aditya Khanal Ms. Gita Koirala Bhandari Dr. Nityananda Khanal Dr. Shyam L. Kandel Dr. Sushil Thapa Dr. Uma Karki three-member EFAB shall be created, with NAPA's Founding President serving as the Chair and the Founding General Secretary as Member Secretary/Director of the Board while the current NAPA President will be the *ex officio* Director of the Board. The Board shall expand by inducting each NAPA past president upon completion of his/her presidential tenure. Besides, the Board may appoint coordinators, financial analysts, and legal counselors as deemed appropriate. EFAB shall take a leading role in defining and detailing the procedures for collection, investment, and utilization of the endowment fund. The Board shall function as the authorized body for the growth and development of the endowment funds in consultation with EC, advisory council, and NAPA community as deemed necessary. The roles, responsibilities, and the terms of the EFAB members and coordinators shall be developed and approved by the NAPA's Executive Committee.

iii) Immediate Past President in Executive Committee (*ex officio* member):

- The Immediate Past President (IPP) is an automatic *ex officio* non-voting member in the subsequent Executive Committee.
- The IPP shall advice the Executive Committee on prevalent practices and other matters for smooth transition of leadership and assists EC as needed.

Proposed Changes in Associate Membership:

Associate Membership:

Current:

Interested individuals who do not qualify for 1-5 membership types (regular/general, student, life, family, and honorary). However, the member shall neither have a voting right nor be the candidate of the EC. However, they can be Associate Life member.

(iv) Proposed Changes:

Interested individuals from outside of Americas who hold at least an undergraduate degree in agriculture or allied areas shall meet the requirement of this member category. In addition, professionals (minimum 7 years of professional experience) with an associate/diploma equivalent degree (high school + 2-3 years program) in Agriculture and Allied areas, and Agricultural Entrepreneurs/Practitioners (minimum 5 years of experience) may qualify for Associate membership with EC approval of membership



Association of Nepalese Agricultural Professionals of Americas

Executive Committee

President Dr. Megha N. Parajulee

Vice President Dr. Pradeep Wagle

General Secretary Dr. Ramjee Ghimire

Joint Secretary Dr. Dev Paudel

Treasurer Dr. Santosh Dhakal

Members

Dr. Aditya Khanal Ms. Gita Koirala Bhandari Dr. Nityananda Khanal Dr. Shyam L. Kandel Dr. Sushil Thapa Dr. Uma Karki application on case-by-case bases. Associate members shall neither have a voting right nor be the candidate of EC. However, they may perform roles in specialized committees as assigned by EC.

- **2.2** The meeting also unanimously approved other minor edits on the by-laws and decided to table the same in the upcoming Annual General Meeting for approval.
- 3. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 PM.